Clips have gaps after pro tools conform

I’m re-conforming after comparing two AAFs exported from Pro Tools with Video. After the re-conform is done the clips that were once joined now have gaps at assumed video cuts, is it part of the process to manual trim together all of these clips? I’m new at re-conforming and was hoping this software would help with video edits during post audio sessions.

Thanks

So firstly - the AAFs exported from Pro Tools are full of issues.
We don’t recommend or support Pro Tools exported AAFs, and there’s little we can do to make this situation better unfortunately. In an upcoming release we will support the ingestion of the Pro Tools “Session Info as Text” files, which should give you a similar workflow to what you’re attempting.

Next - I wonder why you’re using AAFs exported from PT. You’d normally get the AAF, EDL or XML from the picture dept, so that you know you’re comparing the reel as they cut it.

And regarding “clips that were once joined now have gaps”:
Assuming the AAFs weren’t the cause of the issue - you may have “healing” turned off.
Matchbox first matches every shot against its counterpart in the old version, and then it heals any shots together that have not moved with respect to each other. So one green Match object should represent a stretch of unchanged footage. If you compared with healing OFF, then you’ll see a green Match object for every shot - and these will be the edits that re made in your Pro Tools session.

If you haven’t already, I strongly recommend watching the tutorial videos here:

Thanks for your quick reply!

I have watched your video and read the manual, after reading your reply I suspect the AAF’s are the problem or am I just not getting the concept ha!

Let me explain the AAF’s